Doing What’s Best for Kids

Celebrating First Nations, Métis, and Inuit Graduates at the Traditional Celebration of Achievement

Posted on: General News

(Fort McMurray, AB - June 21st, 2024) On June 17th, the community of Wood Buffalo came together to honour and celebrate the graduating accomplishments of First Nations, Métis, and Inuit students during the 27th annual Traditional Celebration of Achievement (TCOA). This special event has grown significantly since it began in 1998 with just 11 graduates. This year, the celebration recognized 27 graduating students from the Fort McMurray Public School Division alone, exemplifying this annual tradition's increasing importance and impact.

TCOA was established to provide a meaningful and culturally rich celebration for grade 12 First Nations, Métis, and Inuit students in the Wood Buffalo Region. The event honours graduates from all local schools, including the Fort McMurray Public School Division (FMPSD), Fort McMurray Catholic School Division, Northlands School Division, Parkland School Division, Fort McKay First Nation and Fort Chipewyan Community High School.

Since its inception, TCOA has stood as a testament to the commitment and perseverance of these students, their families, and the wider community. With the backing of local corporate partners, the four school boards, the Athabasca Tribal Council (ATC), and Metis Local 1935, TCOA has evolved into a beacon of both academic excellence and cultural pride, fostering a sense of identity and achievement among the First Nations, Métis, and Inuit communities.

Congratulations to all the graduates; you are the pride of our community, and your accomplishments pave the way for future generations:

Composite High School

  • Ian Cudmore
  • Winter Rose Derange
  • Julia Greenhalgh
  • Corwin Pollard

École McTavish Public High School

  • Kelsea Boostrom
  • Emma Cheecham
  • Isabella Dionne
  • Hailey Flett
  • Halle Gullion-Alook
  • Nick Labelle
  • Lilly LaPierre
  • Tiahjia MacLean
  • Lauryn Simms
  • Evan Torraville

Frank Spragins High School

    • Rj Blanchard
    • Neteja Dixon
    • Blair Emard
    • Megan Harrison
    • Riley Kimble
    • Anna Murphy


Westwood Community High School

  • Maycie Callan
  • Amethyst Cardinal
  • Alexander Dunn
  • Avery Gilks
  • Devon Gowans
  • Brianna House
  • Ethan Playford

Congratulations again on this significant milestone!

For additional information, contact:

Momin Syed                                                           
Communications Coordinator
Fort McMurray Public School Division