Doing What’s Best for Kids

Community of Wood Buffalo

Welcome to Wood Buffalo - a vibrant region home to many cultures from around the world with Fort McMurray as its city centre. This cosmopolitan community has a population of 75,000 according to the 2018 Census. Most of this growth is driven by Northeast Alberta’s rapidly expanding oil sands industry. Fort McMurray was designated a city on April 1, 1995. At that time, it merged with other local areas creating the Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo. The Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo consists of: 

  • Anzac
  • Conklin
  • Fort Chipewyan
  • Fort Mackay
  • Gregoire Lake Estates
  • Janvier South
  • Saprae Creek
  • Draper
  • Fort Fitzgerald
  • Mariana Lakes

Visit Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo's official website to learn more about our home. We're glad you visited, we're thrilled you stayed!

Visit Fort McMurray Tourism's official website to learn more about Fort McMurray. 

For a list of specialized community resources visit

aerial shot of fort mcmurray