# BOARD HIGHLIGHTS

## Fort McMurray Public Schools

## **BOARD OF TRUSTEES 2024/2025**



Board meetings take place in the Central Board room at the Division Office (231 Hardin Street) starting at 2:00 pm. There are no more meetings scheduled for the 2024/25 school year. The following are updates from the June 18, 2025, meeting. FOLLOW US @



## **PRIORITY #1 - SUCCESS FOR ALL**

- The Board approved the requisition of locally acquired courses for use by École McTavish High School, Westwood Community High School, Fort McMurray Composite High School and Frank Spragins High School beginning the first semester of the 2025-2026 school year. The material and resources for each course will be as per each course outline.
- The Board approved the evaluation of the Board for the 2024/2025 School Year, and approved the Board of Trustees Strategic Plan 2025-2029 as a guiding document for the Board.
- The Board approved the Superintendent evaluation report for the period from June 19, 2024, to June 18, 2025.
- The Board has accepted the Board of Trustees Meeting Schedule, School Visits Schedule and Spotlight on Students Schedule for the 2025-2026 school year as discussed and reviewed.

### PRIORITY #2 - MAINTAIN SAFE & CARING LEARNING ENVIRONMENTS

- Alberta Education is moving forward to the Request for Proposal phase for architectural services for the replacement of Westwood Community High School.
- The Board has adopted the Advocacy priorities, Funding and Mental Health, as presented by the Advocacy Committee for the 2025-2026 school year.

## **TRUSTEE ENGAGEMENT FOR MAY 22 - JUNE 18**

June 2025

## **DIVISION SHOWCASE**

#### Visual Art Award Winner - Autumn Moon Thunder-Chief



Westwood Community High School sutdent Autumn Moon Thunder-Chief has been named the Visual Art Award Winner for her outstanding piece, Companion, chosen from over 70 student submissions across the Division. Her work will be proudly displayed at the FMPSD Division Office as a testament to her creativity and talent.

#### **PSBAA** Dick Baker Legacy Award



The Public School Boards' Association of Alberta (PSBAA) has awarded Board Chair Linda Mywaart with the prestigious Dick Baker Legacy Award. Trustees Tim O'Hara and Jonathan Lambert (not pictured) were also acknowledged for their dedicated years of service to public education.

#### Innovative Leadership Award - Emilie Giroux



Congratulations to Christina Gordon Vice Principal Emilie Giroux on winning the FMPSD Innovative Leadership Award. Her dedication to fostering an inclusive learning environment and leading Christina Gordon Public School to become Alberta's first Language Friendly School, a global initiative by the Rutu Foundation.

#### NCWIT Aspirations in Computing Award - Nishka Rai



Huge congratulations to Westwood Community High School student Nishka Rai (pictured is Nishka's mother), a Grade 12 student at Westwood Community High School, for receiving the prestigious NCWIT Aspirations in Computing Award. This award honours her outstanding achievements and passion for computing.

#### TD National Scholarship - Haleema Malik



Haleema Malik from Westwood Community High School was honoured by the Board for receiving the prestigious TD Scholarship for Community Leadership, a coveted award given to only 20 students across Canada. Valued at up to \$70,000, the scholarship includes tuition, living costs, summer job opportunities, and mentorship.

#### **Canada-Wide Science Fair Winners**



The Board highlighted Westwood Community High School students Priyal Patel, Nishka Rai (pictured is Nishka's mother), Riley Saha Halder, and Aarya Patel, who showcased hard work and scientific excellence on the national stage, earning numerous awards and scholarships for their innovative projects.

#### Distinguished Leadership Recipient - Bobbi Compton



The Board proudly honoured Dr. K. A. Clark Principal Bobbi Compton, who has been named a Distinguished Leadership Recipient by the ATA. She is one of only 18 individuals recognized across the province for this prestigious achievement.

#### Doing What's Best For Kids Award - Momin Syed



Momin Syed, FMPSD's Communications Coordinator, has been honoured with the prestigious Doing What's Best For Kids Award. This recognition highlights dedicated efforts to prioritize the well-being and success of students in the Division.